What kind of teacher are you?

I have worked a few years at my school and have used the traditional teaching and flip class. It is now time for me to grade my students before summer. In Sweden we have A-F ratings where F is fail. There are a lot of pupils who will achieve an A. Some will achieve lower grades. Unfortunately, I have also some students who will failurereceive F.

I then start to think about these F students. Why did they get this grade?.. I’m starting to ask myself if I could have done any more for this student. Is there any way for this student to completed at least one E.

Many times, these students who received F grades are very often not at all interested in the subject and do not contribute with anything in order for them to get a good grade. I must admit that sometimes I get frustrated and I often ask myself  why I almost work myself to death for a student who not even want my help.

If I think like that I should also think … What kind of teacher  am I?. Am I  a teacher who gives up because I have an obstacle in front of me or Am I  a teacher who will be more motivated to get to work a little extra?

The flip class, which I prefer as a method, often focuses on the individual student  However, If  I  also begin to think of the class as a group,  I think the class can do better both academically and socially.

group

I imagine a coach who wants all players to perform well for the team to be able to win. Then you can not have a player who is not performing well. It is the coach’s responsibility to make sure that all players perform at their best.

I will start to see myself as a coach/Teacher in the classroom. I want all students to perform at their best and it’s my responsibility that they do that. Is there a student who are not performing well enough I have to be there as a teacher and motivate this student. The higher the knowledge a student has, the higher the knowledge, the group together will have and this contribute to a better and more advanced education in the classroom. You can therefore not have any student that drag you class down . It is your responsibility to give these students the right support in order for the student to perform not just for themselves but also for their class.  As I written before the class is no better than the weakest link.

What kind of teacher are you? do you see any disadvantages by thinking this way?

Please share you thoughts…..

Please remember there is not just your students that you should motivate but also your coworker, read my last post about that “Support your coworkers”

Related posts ———–> What kind kind of colleague are you?

This entry was posted in Flip-class, Motivation is the key and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to What kind of teacher are you?

  1. Dear Teacher,

    I am impressed at your bravery to share your end-of-year reflection with the world! I am glad that you did. I am also impressed with your willingness to ask yourself the hard questions and give honest answers. This is the only way that we become better teachers and find ways to really connect and reach our students. I have had to ask myself some of the same questions this year. How do I reach the students that don’t seem to want my help? Do I give up on a student because of this, or do I view it as an obstacle and challenge and find a way to get to the student’s heart? You are so right when you say that we are coaches. We want our team to win. What are we doing to get all of the team members “playing like a team?”

    Something tells me that you are an awesome teacher! I know that you are going to take these lessons into next year and become an even better teacher! Your students are better for having been in your class. I know it! Keep on teaching, Teacher!

    Love, Teacher

    • dubier86 says:

      Wow thank you. I really appreciate it.

      • You are quite welcome. I bet you have some interesting ways to encourage and give hope to your students and to other teachers, as well, and that is the heart of my blog. Would you ever be willing to guest blog? Maybe talk about ways to do this using aspects of what you do through incorporating your IT background? I don’t know. Just a thought. I would be willing to repay the favor. I could talk about how I use internet tools to pass on encouragement to other teachers and to my students. Please let me know if you are interested.

      • dubier86 says:

        Of course I would be interested. Let me know how you want to start.

      • If you just want to type something up about how you encourage teachers and/or students just like you would for your blog and then email it to me (in a Word doc or PDF), I will put in on the blog…probably next week (not this coming week). I will be out of pocket for a week or so, so I am trying to line up some guest bloggers for that time. I will just set it to post while I am gone. I will give an introduction that links to your blog.

        You could also just chose to write a post of encouragement to teachers. If you read through some of my posts and get a feel for what I do and want to write something similar, that would work, too.

        My email is dearteacher@outlook.com.

        Thank you so much for being willing to do this!

      • By the way, I tweeted your post and shared it on my Dear Teacher/Love Teacher Facebook Page.

      • dubier86 says:

        What about this post? that I wrote for a couple of days ago? Could that be something you would be willing to put on your blog. Thank you for sharing my blog

  2. princetonert says:

    I have met many teachers. Only the ones who are the most secure can admit that they self-doubt. It is always interesting to see how the weakest always feel they are right all the time.

    Back to your point on the children who will be receiving F’s…here in New Jersey, many schools considered the flipped-classroom. The school districts took into account cultural practices of highly diverse families backgrounds and also the learning HABITS of students. Is it possible that not all students respond well to the flipped-classroom?

    • dubier86 says:

      Thank you for your input and I agree, you need to always try to improve.

      Look, that is a very interesting questions and I have asked my self that questions many times and of course there will be students that not will respond well to this method (in the beginning at least). I believe that you are thinking also about that every family doesn’t have Internet access at home. There is many different types of Flip-classroom. If I put it this way. There is flipclass-extreme and flip class light that I use.. I am giving flipclass extreme the most of the time as I know that all the students that I have in my classes do have the recourses for it. Our school also have very good recourses. The light version I offer to those students that have problems of adapting. Those student can themselves choose if they want to find the information in the books or watch the videos. If these students still don’t respond well, the flipclass method allows me having more time with them as the other students are working on their own.

      I always make sure that the info that I give on the videos are available in the textbooks as well.

      To summarize: There is always students that are not going to respond well to flip class method. However the method gives the teacher more time to help the weak students and the students that really needs help. Many people could also say that the student are weak because of the method we use, may be, but I believe that with motivation the students can find there own learning style within flip-class.

      I hope I answered your question.

      By the way, can you please give me some example of problems that New Jersey school district had found with “flip class” it coud be a great help as I am always trying improve my teaching.

      Thank you

      • princetonert says:

        Because I am in the media, I cannot provide specific names. However, I can provide specific examples without names.

        There is one district in New Jersey that seriously considered Khan Academy and a flipped classroom. However, the administrators decided against it because the they felt that students will not watch the videos or do the work at home. Part of this view comes from the fact that New Jersey’s culture, while very computer savvy, is overall still very traditional.

        I can also guess at another reason. There are many educators in New Jersey who abide by dialogic teaching. They believe that students learn through conversation. Without dialogue, students cannot learn.

        I have never been inside a flipped classroom, because so far no public school in New Jersey is willing to experiment with so much technology. Very honestly, very few schools can afford so much technology. California has a culture that is heavily influenced by Silicon Valley, and classrooms there seem to have tried the flipped classroom. The news reports say the students are very successful, but I do not know if it’s 100% successful, or 95% or 90%.

      • dubier86 says:

        Thank you very much for your answers. All of this examples are very interesting. However. Regarding the opinion about non existing conversation in the flipclass I believe it’s not right. The purpose of the flip-class is to have more time to create effective lessons. And with that more conversation in the classroom and more time on what is really important.

        You say that you never been in a flip-classroom, many people think that the flipclass have a bunch of computers and IT stuff everywhere. that is not really correct , al depends of how the teacher adapt the flip. The flip is not just about the IT is also about how well the teachers can adapt and their flexibility. Do you know what I mean?

        I can admit that there is obstacles that you may need to solve, but doesn’t that also exist in traditional teaching?

        Thank you so much fore you feedback that was very useful.

  3. Pingback: How old are you? | 2bitsworthofthoughts

  4. Anna Roys says:

    I attempted to implement flip classroom strategies in a couple of my classes this past year. My biggest obstacle was that students would not come to class prepared by viewing or reading what I assigned to be done before the next class meeting. This made it so I had to have two lesson plans ready, one to use if kiddos were prepared that took them deeper into the content and one if kiddos were not prepared. I think that communicating with my parents more may help me more this coming year. I want to believe that If parents understand the system, then they can help us migrate to our flipped classroom models.

    • dubier86 says:

      I understand that the first year can be a little tricky, first because it is not just new for the students but also for you. I see i very difficult to continue if the parents do not understand the method or agreeds with it. It also helps to have collegues that could support you, even if they dont use the method they can help you explain for both parents and students that may be against it. Thank you for share you experiences. Let me know how it goes this coming year.

    • Semonique says:

      Yes! From my experience without the parents involvement flipped classroom can be problematic. I have just recently started using it on a small scale and only those students whose parents were involved were able to dealt deep into concepts. Hopefully next school, I would get more support.

  5. Pingback: What kind of colleague are you? | I teach with IT

Leave a Reply

